Triathlon

Alright I have been training again for the tri, hence the lack of blogging. 

 Well today I did the SimplyStu Worldwide Tri  at my local YMCA where I train.  Man let me tell you how damn good it feels to finish a race. 

So I jumped in the pool about noon and swam decently hard but I held back a little since I was concerned about the next two stages.  I was a little over the half way point on the swim when a 92 year old lady asked if she could share the lane.  She was really cool.  Well I finished the half mile swim in 18 minutes and jumped out of the pool and hustled upstairs to the locker room. 

I went through my make shift transition in about 4 minutes which is long but yet I did have to sort through the locker room and then head to the cardio room since I was riding the stationary bike and treadmill.

 I jumped on the bike and started to cruise.  I only had 5 miles to go but it felt great.  I did have a few moments that hurt during mile 2.  After I hit the half way point I just cruised to the finish.  Once I hit the mile 3 point I hit the Hammer gel and that hit me with some more power.  I really pushed hard at the end. 

Once off the bike I hit the water really hard and then talked one of the girls working at the Y into taking my photo while on the treadmill.  I was about 30 seconds into the run when I thought my right calf was going to explode.  I jumped off and stretched and from there it felt great.  This might have been the strongest run I have had this year.  I put down the run in 18 minutes for 2 miles.  (Yeah I know a little short but I have a 5k tomorrow). 

 Let me tell you how cool it flet to finish.  I wanted to throw my arms in the air when I was done but since I was in the gym I didn’t…….

Published in: on March 23, 2007 at 10:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://isualum.wordpress.com/2007/03/23/triathlon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

