Blog Review #1

Alright Alright I know I am behind on last weeks schedule for the week’s blog.  Maybe it wasn’t the greatest idea.  I don’t know yet.  I do know, some days I don’t feel like writing about what I had promised already and other days I am just busy. 

Blog Review-Please keep in mind it is only my opinion.  What is my qualification for reviewing blogs?  I know how to read (I can even sound out the big words).  That is about it.  I am just writing about what feels good about their blog or doesn’t feel good about it.

Well let’s try this for the first time.  I decided to review One-Minute Book Review.  (Please don’t comment on the Irony)  This blog is written by Janice Harayda.  Her website says she is a journalist, editor and novel writer.  Her books include ‘Manhattan On the Rocks’ and Accidental Bride, A Romantic Comedy.  Needless to say from what I gather she reads more books in a month then I browse through in a year. 

Have you ever walked into a book store or library without anything in mind to look for and just start wondering around.  Yeah I do it all of the time also.  This blog does two things in my mind.  It allows me to do this everyday from my desk at work and it also might help me start actually look for a specific book next time I walk in the book store.

So how does her site work?  Everyday she writes a review on a book that she has read.  Different days have different types of books.  For example Saturdays is children books, Tuesday’s are how to books.  It should be noted that One-Minute Book Reviews doesn’t accept free books from publishing companies. 

So far I click in every few days and read the reviews for various books all over the map.  I can’t say that any review has turned me onto a book yet but I can say they have been informative.  Take for example Saturday’s review of the new Where’s Waldo.  I thought her statistics on the book where interesting.  I realistically had no idea that a kid’s book would potentially have these violent items in it.  I will think twice before buying one of these books for my kids now. 

I totally love that the blog has disciplined format for each review with the ‘worst line:, Best line, Recommended’ section’ on the page.  I really dig this.  It makes it fast and friendly.  But I highly recommend that you spend the extra minutes and read the reviews, they are well written.I thought the ‘Make a Donation’ section was odd at best but I do understand the logic that is outlined.  The FAQ section is interesting and does explain the logic a little more.  One part I did notice is that there are no comments left on books.  So basically Harayda is not getting any feedback on her reviews.  That is a little hard I think.

Overall I think the blog is good.  I am sure one of these days it I will read a review on the blog that will inspire me to go grab that specific book.  In the mean time I will keep looking.

Published in: on December 11, 2006 at 10:02 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://isualum.wordpress.com/2006/12/11/blog-review-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love the review. I think I’ll stop by and have look for myself later on.


Leave a Reply

