Is Racism Ever Justified

So let me say before I get going that this blog is kind of stolen?  I was reading http://mattandharry.wordpress.com blog and it got me thinking about this topic a great deal.  You can see my comments on that blog as well on a simliar topic.  Needless to say I want to give them credit for a great topic that made me think and encouraged me to write about on this page.  Please go read their blog.

 WHEN IS RACISM JUSTIFIED?

~I knew a man who was racist against people from
Vietnam.  He openly admitted it but justified it to himself and others with the fact that he fought in the Vietnam War.  He claimed his feeling where hardened and changed when he was shot at and had buddies killed in
Vietnam.

~I have a co-worker who hates people from India and
Pakistan because he has lost two jobs to contractors from those nations or had his job outsourced to those nations.

So can they justify it….

I don’t think it is justified simply for the reason that you are making a blanket assumption on an entire group of people rather then judging them individually.  I graduated from Idaho State University (hence ISUALUM), I would hope that if I applied for a job that I wouldn’t be turned down for that job because the last lazy guy that worked in that position and was let go was a graduate of ISU.  It is at the root the same logic.  Connecting two dots and then turning it into a blanked statement.  He was lazy and from ISU, there for all people from ISU must be lazy.  He is from Vietnam and tried killing me, there for all people from
Vietnam must want to kill me. 
It is a standard leep in logic…I have never been shot at but I would hope afterwards I would still feel the same.I welcome all comments on this and I still encourage you to visit http://mattandharry.wordpress.com 

Published in: on December 1, 2006 at 11:30 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://isualum.wordpress.com/2006/12/01/is-racism-ever-justified/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can racism be justified? No. But it won’t stop people with these harsh feelings towards others from using an excuse as a means to their problem.

    I think racism in general is a world-wide issue. Let me explain. When I was 12 years old, I lived in Texas. A small town in Texas. I was one of 3 white kids in the whole school. The rest were hispanic. And let me say, I got my butt whipped for along time because I was the “white” kid.

    I think anytime there is a majority, you are going to have issues with the lesser crowd. It is sad, but I don’t think it will change.

    Another good example. Let’s say I am Republican, I hate democrats for their beliefs. Is this a type of prejudice. And if it is, why does our government continually force this prejudice issue upon us?

    Just a couple things to think about.
    Great subject.

  2. I think racism always occurs where people feel threatened by what’s different.

  3. Racism stems from a deep sense of insecurity. It is not justifiable in any way, but then many of the things we say and do aren’t.
    Coming from a country (I am from South Africa) that has defined racism for many years and still do, I can only say that these thoughts and behaviours are deeply entrenched in people’s thoughts and lives.
    To some extend, I can understand when people are pissed of at things that happen to them and can see how they could extrapolate and generalise it to the extend that they view other people of that same race, group or religion in that same manner. It is not justified or right, but I understand where it comes from. For these people at least it is not to late to change their minds.
    What truly gets me is when people hate, and for no rational reason, marginalise others merely because of the colour of their skin or the way they look… simply because they can. Nothing was ever done to them and for all logical reasons they have no reason to “hate”, but they still do.
    There was an item here in the news the other day where a group of 20y-olds flew the old South African flag (hailing from Apartheid South Africa) at an international sports event. When asked about it the answer was,
    “We are proud South Africans and we no longer live in the new South Africa(meaning post-Apartheid South Africa),” said Johannes Wolfaardt (21). Asked how they reconcile their view with the fact that if it were not for the new South Africa the Springboks (SA rugby team) would not be playing at Twickenham, Wolfaardt looked a bit surprised. “What you’re saying is not what my dad says. And what he says, is true.”
    It is that last sentence that gets to me… “and what my dad says is true”. These kids were born around the time of Nelson Mandela’s release and when Apartheid was abolished. Yet, they are living with and are indoctrinated daily with the hatred their fathers have for black people. It is really sad that they have to carry this burden, and in all probability they will pass it on to their children.

  4. Racism is never justifiable in my book. As a black person I guess I am very sensitive about this.

    My boss at work was mugged a couple of years ago by a black youth and she says since then she has been wary of black males. I understand that she has gone through a very traumatic experience and I feel bad for her having to experience that but I am also really pissed off because if she was mugged by a white male- will she be wary of white males? I am not a mind reader but I am guessing that she wouldn’t be.

    In the real world we can’t all love each other and I guess people are entitled to think what they like as long as it doesn’t affect others.

  5. That is the problem, racism does affect others.

  6. Great posts everyone. Chitty I think your perception is really interesting considering the South African aspect, yet it still sounds like the same mind drain and narrowness.

    Sugar- I think your correct about your boss. I find it a really interesting aspect.


Leave a Reply

