She Lied

So I have a problem that is kind of my problem and kind of my wife’s problem.   I am sure she would tell me that it is not my problem.  So here is the story.  We have two sets of friends.  One couple has been good friends for sometime.  I am good friends with the husband John  and my wife is good friends with the wife, Stacy.   The other couple is a little newer couple.  I am good friends with the guy in couple
Steve.  He has been living with his girlfriend Diane, for about 2 years. 

Friday night all three guys got together and went to the high school state championship game together.  As I was leaving the house my wife mentioned to me that she was going to call Stacy and see what she was doing.  As the game ended we all said lets go grab a beer before heading home.  I mentioned that I wanted to drive to the side of town that we lived on to a bar over there.  John & Steve where driving together and I had my own car since I meet them at the game.
Steve said he would call me on the way towards our side of town and tell me what bar to meet them at.  20 minutes later I was with in a couple miles of my house and I still hadn’t heard from them.  So I called them and Steve said that they where at his house since Stacy was over there with Diane having a drink so they wouldn’t be meeting me for a beer.  Ok not a big deal.  I got home and my wife is asleep in bed.

Next Morning-

I am sitting at the table reading the newspaper and my wife is sitting there as well.  I asked why she didn’t go out with Stacy last night.  My wife says to me, “Because her parents are coming to town this week for the holidays and she had to stay home and clean.”  I am sure I looked at her like an idiot.   I quickly said “No she didn’t”.  My wife looked at me and said “What do you mean?  I called her last night right after you left and she said she couldn’t go out because she had to clean.”  I explained to her that we didn’t go get a beer last night because Stacy was over at Steve’s house with Diane.  She quickly started wondering if she had been lied to. 

That night Steve stopped by for a small poker game that we have at our house.  Before he could even sit down my wife asked him “Did Stacy hang out with Diane last night?” 
Steve looked at me for help.   I had no idea what to say.  He said to my wife “Look I am not really apart of it and I don’t agree with her lying so I will just say it how it is to you.  Last night when you called Stacy she was heading over to my house to have a drink with my Diane.  I don’t know why she lied to you but she did.” 

I felt like crap instantly for my wife.  She looked like someone had just punched her in the gut.  I think she really knew the story before asking the question but once the story was confirmed by him she couldn’t make excuses any longer for her friend.  Plain and simple her friend had lied to her.  I didn’t know what to say to my wife.  Why wasn’t she invited out with friends?  Why was she lied too when she called to invite a friend out?  She felt about 2 inches tall. 

Needless to say she wants nothing to do with them now.  So friends that we have had for 8+ years just pissed it away I think over a little white lie.  I want to call them on it but I am not sure how.

Published in: on November 20, 2006 at 11:09 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://isualum.wordpress.com/2006/11/20/she-lied/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ouch – I feel for your wife.She must have felt terrible. I have had something similar happen to me and it makes you question what is wrong with me and what gave I done?? You posted this a while ago, did you ever confront them??

  2. Yeah it is up above under Friends?? It festered for a while and my wife finially talked to her about it. She brushed it off as a misunderstanding yada yada yada. I don’t trust her but my wife was willing to forgive and forget.


Leave a Reply

